The Ga East Municipal Assembly (GEMA), on Monday, inducted into office four new Government Appointees, replacing those appointed by the erstwhile government of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and elected two Members to the Regional Electoral College at a brief ceremony at Abokobi.

Following the amendment of the Local Governance Act, 2016; Act 936, which hitherto tied the hands of the President on appointments to the District, Municipal and Metropolitan Assemblies (MMDAs), His Excellency President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo revoked the appointments of the previous Government Appointees, paving way for new set of appointments to be made to ensure the full complement and functionality of the District Assemblies throughout the country.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The New Patriotic  Party (NPP)-led government was hit with the quagmire of laying aside the Appointees of the previous government and appointing new ones after taking office early January this year but a swift effort to amend the Local Governance Act, Act 2016 by the 7th Parliament of the 4th Republic which was subsequently assented to by the President made it possible.

At a brief ceremony at Abokobi, the capital of GEMA, the four Appointees, Mr. Ralph Awuku Boateng, Mrs. Mary Odonkor, Mr. Robert Gyeke-Darko, and Mr. Archibold Cobbina, took the Oaths of Office, Allegiance and Secrecy, administered by the Circuit Judge at Kwabenya, Her Honour Mrs Ellen Serwah Mireku.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The four replaced Hon. Clement Vanderpujie, Hon. Emmanuel Sogbe, Hon. Salomey Jonah and Hon. Nii Annang Ofori, the immediate-past Presiding Member.

The Municipal Coordinating Director and Acting Municipal Chief Executive (MCE), Alhaji Shehu Awudu Kadiri said the Assembly will take immediate and necessary steps to organize orientation for the Members to ensure that they are abreast with the new Local Governance Act.


“We will get all Members copies of the new law as the old one may not be relevant to the Assemblies anymore”, the MCD assured the Honourable Members when highlighting key aspects of the law in respect of the conduct of business of the House.

He appealed to the new Appointees not to hesitate in approaching the Assembly to seek clarification or explanation on issues of concern to them or the Assembly and encouraged them to bring their expertise and knowledge to bare on their new roles.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Two of the Appointees, Hon. Cobbina and Gyeke-Darko, on behalf their colleagues, thanked the Assembly for receiving them into their fold and promised to cooperate and work together as a team to advance the development of the municipality.

Assembly Members for Abokobi and Dome West, Hon. Moses Ola Dowuona and Hon. Benjamin Okai, respectively, were elected to Regional Electoral College as representatives of the Assembly.

The exercise was conducted smoothly and in an atmosphere of peace and cordiality and without any setback.

By: Okunyin Boaz Orlan-Hackman

Pictures: Stephen Quartey


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s